Australasian Catalogue Association

Media Release: 25th Annual ACA Awards

Annual ACA Awards: 25 years celebrating catalogues’ performance

For immediate release: Monday 5th June

The Australasian Catalogue Association (ACA) hosted its 25th Annual ACA Awards last Friday night, recognising expertise and excellence in catalogue and letterbox marketing. With retailers, creatives, agencies, printers and distributors all in the same room there was a great deal of excitement amongst the record 722 guests.

Hosted at Crown Palladium, Melbourne and affectionately referred to in the industry as the ‘Catalogies’, guests celebrated one of Australia and New Zealand’s most effective and resilient media channels. Former designer and funny-guy Dave Thornton, as Master of Ceremonies, kept the crowd entertained throughout the 47 award categories which included, for the first time, six categories for New Zealand entrants only.

“With the ACA having successfully launched in New Zealand earlier this year, we were very excited to then launch six New Zealand categories to the Awards,” commented Kellie Northwood, Chief Executive Officer, ACA. “New Zealand creatives and retailers have built a strong reputation for their innovation and creativity when developing retail communications and it has been demonstrated tonight and through all the submissions received.”

Clemenger BBDO were triumphant for their work on enhancing the Myer brand. Not only winning ‘Agency of the Year’, Clemenger BBDO also took home five category wins for Myer with ‘Catalogue Retailer of the Year – up to 1.5M’, ‘Children’s Apparel’, ‘Whitegoods, Electricals, Electronics & Home Entertainment’, ‘Technology on Paper – Effectiveness’ and ‘Multi-channel Campaign’.

Pippa O’Regan, Head of Retail, Clemenger BBDO said on the night, “We are thrilled to have claimed the title of Agency of the Year. Working with the dedicated team at Myer has been great and we’re very proud of our efforts. The other finalists were all very deserving and it’s great to see just how much talent there is in the industry right now.”

Myer, Harvey Norman and Dan Murphy’s came out as winners for ‘Retailers of the Year’ across their sectors, and Woolworths came out triumphant winning the ‘Supermarkets’ Awards against Finalists ALDI, Ritchies and Coles Supermarket. It was fierce competition across the board with over 700 entries this year.

The prestigious ‘Judge’s Choice’ Award went to Peter Alexander, for their ‘Mother’s Day’ catalogue produced by Paper Stone Scissors. This Award cannot be entered, rather each of the 57 judges select the best of the best across all categories and then the Winner is selected from the final four – a great achievement for all the Paper Stone and Scissors team.

“We are honoured to be recognised for our work with Peter Alexander! This catalogue was all about communicating the style and personality of the brand and I’m so glad that our team’s dedication and efforts were highlighted this year for doing just that,” said Emily Woollett, Creative Director, Paper Stone Scissors.

With $1,000 CASH Prizes being awarded to ‘Best Young Talent’ and ‘Best Young Designer’ the winners, Yen Huang from Myer and Anthony Christie from Kmart, were delighted to be selected across their industry peers.

Anthony Christie commented “I am so honoured to have won this award! I could not have done it alone – thank you to my team for all of your support and mentorship over the past year.”

Kellie Northwood said of the night “Tonight is such a great celebration of a rich, diverse and creative industry, from retailers and agencies to printers and distributors, we all come together to celebrate the hard-work that goes into catalogue and letterbox marketing throughout the year.  With an Audience Reach higher than any other media channel at 19.8M and readership at 77%, Australian and New Zealand consumers love catalogues. Twenty-five years of Awards is a terrific milestone for the industry and looking back through the history of Winners it is amazing that the majority of brands entering in the first years of the Awards are still participating today.”